 Schedules are lists in the Constitution of India that categorizes and tabulate bureaucratic activities and policy of the Government.
 Indian Constitution had originally eight schedules.
 9th Schedule was added via First Amendment Act, while
 10th Schedule was first added by 35th Amendment {Sikkim as Associate State}. Once Sikkim became a state of India, the
 10th Schedule was repealed but later added once again by 52nd Amendment Act, 1985 in context with the “Anti-defection” law.
 11 th Schedule – Panchayati Raj- 3rd Constitutional Amendment Act of 1992.
 12th Schedule – Municipalities- 74th Constitutional Amendment Act of 1992.

First Schedule- First schedule lists the states and territories on of India; lists any changes to their borders and the laws used to make that change.
Second Schedule- Second schedule lists the emoluments for holders of constitutional offices such as salaries of President, Vice President, Ministers, Judges and Comptroller and AuditorGeneral of India etc.
Third Schedule- This schedule lists the various forms of oath for holders of various constitutional offices.
Fourth Schedule – Fourth schedule enumerates the allocation of Rajya Sabha seats to States or Union Territories.

Fifth Schedule
This schedule enumerates administration and control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes (areas and tribes needing special protection due to disadvantageous conditions).
Scheduled Areas are autonomous areas within a state, administered federally, usually populated by a predominant Scheduled Tribe.
Scheduled Tribes are groups of indigenous people, identified in the Constitution, struggling socio-economically
Sixth Schedule
This schedule comprises provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram. Seventh Schedule- This schedule has divided the Union and State subjects on which they can make laws. It comprises Union List, State List and Concurrent List.
Eighth Schedule- This schedule lists the official languages of the Union.
Ninth Schedule- This schedule enumerates land and tenure reforms; the accession of Sikkim with India.
Tenth Schedule- This schedule comprises anti-defection provisions for Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislatures.
Eleventh Schedule- It was added by 73rd amendment and has list of subjects under the Panchayat Raj institutions or rural local government.
Twelfth Schedule- It was added by 74th amendment and enlists the subjects under Municipalities or urban local government.
Pdf of the Lecture :

Video Lecture by Veer Talyan : 

Leave a Comment